Intersex Resources

Intersex 101:


Articles:

Media: ➢ Faking It: http://interactadvocates.org/mtv-faking-it/ ➢ “Are We Witnessing the Birth of TV’s Intersex Liberation?” by Diane Anderson-Minshall: http://www.advocate.com/current-issue/2016/7/06/are-we-witnessing-birth-t vs-intersex-liberation ➢ “The Significance of MTV’s Intersex Representation” by Pidgeon Pagonis: http://interactadvocates.org/the-signifance-of-mtvs-intersex-representation/ ➢ “Bias Against Intersex Olympics Athletes Is What’s Unfair – Not These Athletes’ Bodies” by Pidgeon Pagonis and Georgiann Davis: http://everydayfeminism.com/2016/08/olympics-intersex-athletes/ ➢ “Model Hanne Gaby Odiele reveals she is intersex” by Susan Miller: http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2017/01/23/model-hanne-gab y-odiele-reveals-she-intersex/96622908/ ➢ “What Hanne Gaby Odiele Means For Intersex People – Like Me” by Susannah Temko: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/susannah-temko/hanne-gaby-odiele_b_143 85952.html ➢ “What Is Intersex?”: http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/gender-revolution-a-journey-with-kat ie-couric/videos/what-is-intersex/ ➢ Media Guide: Covering the Intersex Community: http://interactadvocates.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/INTERSEX-MEDIA GUIDE-interACT.pdf Reports, Pamphlets, and PDFs: ➢ “I Want to Be Like Nature Made Me” Medically Unnecessary Surgeries on Intersex Children in the US: https://www.hrw.org/report/2017/07/25/i-want-be-nature-made-me/medica lly-unnecessary-surgeries-intersex-children-us Axel Keating | axelkeating.com October 2017 ➢ Normalizing Intersex: http://www.nibjournal.org/news/documents/Voices_2016_INTERSEX_FINAL. pdf ➢ Standing Up for the Human Rights of Intersex People: http://www.ilga-europe.org/sites/default/files/how_to_be_a_great_intersex _ally_a_toolkit_for_ngos_and_decision_makers_december_2015_updated. pdf ➢ Intersex Stories and Statistics from Australia: http://interactadvocates.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Intersex-Stories-S tatistics-Australia.pdf ➢ Darlington Statement: https://oii.org.au/darlington-statement/ ➢ We Are Real Report: http://astraeafoundation.org/wearereal/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/Astra eaWeAreRealReport.pdf ➢ What We Wish Our Doctors Knew: http://interactadvocates.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/BROCHURE-inter ACT-Doctors-final-web.pdf ➢ What We Wish Our Parents Knew: http://interactadvocates.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/BROCHURE-inter ACT-Parents-final-web.pdf ➢ What We Wish Our Friends Knew: http://interactadvocates.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/BROCHURE-inter ACT-Friends-final-web.pdf Blogs: ➢ interACT Youth: http://interactyouth.org/ ➢ Intersex Roadshow: http://intersexroadshow.blogspot.com/ ➢ Claudia Astorino at Everyone is Gay: http://everyoneisgay.com/claudia-astorino/ ➢ Full Frontal Activism: Intersex and Awesome: http://fullfrontalactivism.blogspot.com ➢ Pidgeon Pagonis: http://pidgeonpagonis.tumblr.com ➢ Lynnell Stephani Long: http://lynnellstephani.blogspot.com.au/ ➢ Hida Viloria: http://hidaviloria.com/category/blog/ Axel Keating | axelkeating.com October 2017 Books: ➢ Contesting Intersex: The Dubious Diagnosis by Georgiann Davis (Supplemental Teaching Guide: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6kjdM9NX4Lbc2pvUnVZSXhLSmM/view) ➢ Fixing Sex by Katrina Karkazis ➢ Making Sense of Intersex by Ellen K. Feder ➢ Bodies in Doubt by Elizabeth Reis ➢ Intersex and Identity by Sharon Preves ➢ Intersex: A Perilous Difference by Morgan Holmes ➢ Critical Intersex edited by Morgan Holmes ➢ Intersex in the Age of Ethics edited by Alice Dreger Videos: ➢ What It’s Like to be Intersex | Buzzfeed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAUDKEI4QKI ➢ What Do People Know About Being Intersex? | Buzzfeed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpJ3aH9xfis ➢ Intersexperiences with Emily Quinn: https://www.youtube.com/user/Emilord ➢ Intersex Stories (Not Surgeries) with Pidgeon: https://www.youtube.com/user/pidgejen ➢ The Interface Project: https://www.youtube.com/user/theinterfaceproject ➢ Growing Up Intersex | First Person #18 | PBS Digital Studios: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=agdTj9f3F0o ➢ 36 Revolutions of Change | Sean Saifa Wall | TEDxGrandRapids: https://youtu.be/9mvNmRlpfaM?list=PLn1jwyriu52dZTpKeHF5znDXYYPmUkw Xe ➢ Y Chromosomes and the Women Who Have Them: Intersex and Biology Beyond Binary: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkicNY-Jcfk&index=14&list=PL6w9tCwy-D Bvy7a-TNBfyDaMPOIZaqjk2&t=4s ➢ Intersex People and the Physics of Judgment | Cecelia McDonald | TEDxBoulder: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKEGaSJi3bk&index=15&list=PL6w9tCwyDBvy7a-TNBfyDaMPOIZaqjk2 ➢ A Mini-Lecture from Georgiann Davis: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5m__4-PIKio ➢ This Girl Has Balls | Georgiann Davis | TEDxUNLV : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtjVqsIME2A Axel Keating | axelkeating.com October 2017 ➢ We Are Here: Intersex Youth: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16gQDXxsnjM&t=15s&index=11&list=PL6w9t Cwy-DBvy7a-TNBfyDaMPOIZaqjk2 ➢ interACT Youth: Intersex Athletes in the Olympics: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsiAhzWgLCQ&index=16&list=PL6w9tCwyDBvy7a-TNBfyDaMPOIZaqjk2 ➢ interact Youth Bathroom Bills Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLBQx_KMz_s&index=17&list=PL6w9tCwy -DBvy7a-TNBfyDaMPOIZaqjk2 ➢ The Spectrum: Intersex: ○ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/the-spectrum-exploring-diverselgbtqi-identies_us_57338ddae4b0436a18b5bffehttp://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/happy-intersex-awareness-daythis-is-what-intersex-individuals-want-you-to-know_us_581101b7e4b03 90e69cde2d ○ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/intersex-model-hanne-gaby-odi ele-nyc_us_58891efde4b00e390aed4234 ➢ UN Free & Equal: Intersex Awareness: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpWdVTzxgG8&index=35&list=PLcf-Da1XE 9gB167NBiib14O4jljgka6Dp ➢ Human Rights Watch and interACT Intersex Feature Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6JFw_gD97I ➢ What Was Done To These Intersex People Was Not Okay | Teen Vogue: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT4dDO-ZwcQ&index=2&list=PLcf-Da1XE 9gB167NBiib14O4jljgka6Dp&t=5s ➢ Model Hanne Gaby on What It’s Like to Be Intersex | Teen Vogue: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86cNy7tN04k&list=PLcf-Da1XE9gB167NBii b14O4jljgka6Dp&index=4 Movies & Short Films: ➢ The Son I Never Had, Pidgeon Pagonis – http://www.pidgeonismy.name/the-son-i-never-had ➢ Mami Y Yo Y Mi Gallito, Arisleyda Dilone – https://vimeo.com/arisdilone ➢ Intersexion – http://www.intersexionfilm.com ➢ Gender Revolution – http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/gender-revolution-a-journey-with-kat ie-couric/ Axel Keating | axelkeating.com October 2017 International Human Rights Statements: ➢ http://www.astraeafoundation.org/uploads/IntersexResources.pdf ➢ United Nations for Intersex Awareness – Free & Equal: https://www.unfe.org/intersex-awareness/ Additional Intersex Resource Topics (Ethics of Surgery and Decision Making, Legal Issues and Decisions, etc.): ➢ http://interactadvocates.org/resources/intersex-resource-topics/ Research Policy: ➢ interACT Policy on Participation in Research: http://interactadvocates.org/official-interact-policy-on-participation-in-resea rch/ ➢ AIS-DSD Support Group Research Policy: http://aisdsd.org/ais-dsd-support-group-official-research-policy/ ➢ OII Australia: https://oii.org.au/20042/on-requests-for-research/ Intersex Organizations: ➢ https://oii.org.au/links/ Disclaimer: This is not an exhaustive list of resources, but is meant as a guide for information and future research. Inclusion of any content should not be construed as an endorsement or recommendation. Exercise care and skill regarding the accuracy, currency, reliability and correctness of the information at these sites.